The Sunshine Award


the-sunshine-award-sunshine

The Sunshine Award comes to me from Robert Goldstein at http://robertmgoldstein.com/2015/07/20/the-sunshine-award/

The rules:

  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Answer the questions from the person who has nominated you.
  • Nominate some other bloggers for this award.
  • Write the same amount of questions for the bloggers you have nominated.

Robert’s Questions:

1. What is your definition of courage? Courage does not mean having no fear, courage means doing something even if you fear it.

2. What part does compassion play in your life? Considering what I have been through in life I have compassion for everyone. Even those who commit heinous crimes usually have a reason based in their childhood and deserve some compassion, maybe not the same compassion as their victims, but usually you find that they were victims themselves sometime during their lives.

3. If you had a mental illness, how would you want people to treat you? I have several mental illnesses and I would like to be treated with compassion and with empathy. I would like there to be no stigma attached to it, hence my blog name and posts.

4. What do you like most about aging? (or getting older?) I do not enjoy aging really, but glad that my days of chasing toddlers around are over.

5. What is your worst fear? My worst fear is fire. It is a severe childhood phobia that thankfully I have learned to live with. I was not allowed to watch tv or movies if there was a possibility of fire and the worst thing of all was being stuck in a burning building in my 20’s. Age has toned it down somewhat.

My Questions:

1. At what age were you the happiest?

2. What if your unmarried, teenaged daughter came to you and told you she was pregnant, what would you do or say?

3. Do you believe in war? Do you think it is possible we (the world) will ever have world peace?

4. What is your favorite memory?

5. Do you think it is possible to change from a negative to a positive personality?

My nominees:

1. MindLoveMisery

2. Emma

3. D Parker

4. thumbup

 

13 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award

  1. jncthedc

    Congratulations on another award. I enjoyed reading your answers to the questions. Mental illness does not define a person; it merely explains a component in their life. Fear and a lack of willingness to understand mental illness is more common than compassion and empathy. You have become a much stronger person and likely happier as you have developed a greater understanding of your own health. You have overcome a hurdle many are unwilling to attempt. Stay healthy and happy!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. D. Parker

    Congrats on your award, well-deserved!!! 🙂
    I really enjoyed reading your answers to Rob’s questions – isn’t he amazing? If people aren’t following both your blogs, they’d be better off if they did. 🙂
    Thank you for the nomination, I’m so thankful. While I don’t accept awards anymore, I just found I couldn’t give them the time they deserved so I spend it instead on sharing, liking, etc., I do feel I should answer the questions.
    1. At what age were you the happiest?
    I’ve been happy at pretty much all ages of my life, but I think the time I was happiest, as in most ignorant of the world was before I was 7.
    2. What if your unmarried, teenaged daughter came to you and told you she was pregnant, what would you do or say?
    That I loved her, would support her and the baby no matter what. I can’t wait to hold the little one. 🙂
    3. Do you believe in war? Do you think it is possible we (the world) will ever have world peace?
    While I understand war seems like it might have to happen sometimes I feel like too often it’s the first choice or we court it to make governments and corporations happy. I like the ideal of peace, but refer people to a Twilight Zone episode I think entitled, A Small Talent for War…says it all.
    4. What is your favorite memory?
    I have so many, especially of my son, family, friends…I must say I like to have fun and it shows in my memories. lol 😉
    5. Do you think it is possible to change from a negative to a positive personality?
    I like to think everyone is capable of change and who knows, sometimes people that pretend to be positive aren’t and people who seem negative are merely realistic.
    Thank you Tessa and again, congrats, so glad we found each other in this huge virtual haystack! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Feel free to leave any feedback!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.